What is the Blue Zone Diet?

by Carrinicole

What Is A Blue Zone?

Blue Zones are designated locations around the world that have the healthiest populations. To be designated a “Blue Zone,” a region has to have a high concentration of centenarians (people who live over 100 years). Scientists observed the diets and lifestyles of these societies. 

The global Blue Zones are: 

  1. Ikaria, Greece
  2. Okinawa, Japan
  3. Ogliastra Region, Sardinia, Italy
  4. Loma Linda, USA
  5. Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica

What is the Blue Zone Diet?

The Blue Zone Diet is based on the eating habits of the world’s longest-living people. Across multiple cultures – East, West, Latin – they all follow similar diet patterns. These are: 

  • Plant-Based Diet 
    • Reduce meat, seafood, eggs, dairy. 
    • Eat lots of beans.
    • Only eat natural sugars (from fruit, vegetables). 
  • Eat Whole Foods 
    • No egg white only, low-fat, or non-pulp juices. 
    • Eat local. 

Why Eat The Blue Zone Diet?

Having a healthy, long life is important to me. The more I learn about the Blue Zones, the more frustrated I am that we aren’t taught this lifestyle. 

Living this way is a challenge in America, where fast food and processed food is cheaper and more convenient than whole, organic foods. High protein, meat-driven diets are reinforced. We have less life balance than ever, so its hard to take the time to make diet changes and prepare meals. 

But my commitment to my body – something that I was born with and cannot replace – is my most important commitment. Yes, the diet is hard. Yes, I like chicken, eggs, and hamburgers. I LOVE cheese. But, just because it tastes good, doesn’t mean eating it regularly is what’s best for me. I won’t cut these things out of my life, but knowing that they are harmful to me makes them less appealing. Everything in moderation.

You may also like

Leave a Comment